I So Want To Cloth Diaper Our Son

So I have posted on here before that I am really, really wanting to cloth diaper BBH.   I have mentioned this to quite a few friends and family and I am pretty sure they think this is just some sort of fad that I plan on jumping on and then not following through with.   And I have gotten quite a few bewildered looks from folks when I mention cloth diapers. 

But I really, really want to cloth diaper our son. 

The biggest hurdle I have is convincing my husband about them.  He is not about cloth diapers.  Heck he doesn't even like the smell of disposable diapers and he can't stand changing  them! Diaper duty is not Dan's thing.  I am slowly coming to terms with that. It isn't easy…..but I am learning that he just doesn't like to do it if I am around.  *sigh*

So guess who will be changing most of the diapers when BBH is born? *smile*

Anyway, I have done the research about cloth diapers and I have heard a ton of great things about them.  They are far easier to use then when our folks had them.  And there are a lot of different types of cloth diapers that you can choose from. Just pick the system that is best for your family.  I know many people are concerned about the extra amount of laundry that they will have to do, but I have read that if you invest in enough diapers up front, then you really will only have to wash them every couple of days or so.  It really depends on how many diapers you have on hand.  And quite frankly….I would rather spend more upfront on diapers then having to spend $25 a box every couple of weeks because the kid poops and pees all the time!  I read somewhere that parents can spend anywhere from $2000 and up on disposable diapers in the first 2 years of their life!  Do you know what you could buy with $2000???

I do…and it doesn't include  diapers!  (I am totally staring at my bare closet!)

The only hard part is convincing the man of the house.  Maybe I will just have to compromise and keep some disposables for him whenever I have to be out without the kids.  *wink* 

What kinds of things have you had to compromise on with your spouse? 

Tiff~

7 thoughts on “I So Want To Cloth Diaper Our Son

  1. michelle Bradley says:

    I had to convince tim when i tried cloth. He didnt mind it but it does smell. You HAVE to wash on hot water to not encounter stink issues and you have to wash them twice with an extra rinse to make sure all the soap gets out or you will encounter even more stink issues. Thats with the all ones and they are alot harder to dry they are drying for a good hour. It is alot of work and its east the first couple of months but it gets harder especially if you are soley doing cloth. If u do the covers with the kissaluvs those are way easier to dry. Doing the whole poop part is the grossest even with the diaper sprayer becuase the sprayer sprays hard so sometimes its sprays poop everywhere. I think u should definately try it but just dont invest all your money until you are very sure 🙂 I would have still done it but as u know landens bum was wrecked poor guy. So i am back to polluting the earth!!

  2. Sarah Sterlace says:

    hey tiff
    my cousin use cloth diapers and she convinced her hubby to use them by putting a thick paper liner inside to make it an easy clean-up and much less messy. plus you can get cloth with velcro so you dont have to worry about poking the lil guy.
    I love reading this blog BTW

  3. Jennifer Lynch says:

    You should totally do it! Do you know what system you want to use. I’ve been seeing a lot of deals for different brands and could point you in the direction, if you want. My friend Kelly also bought all of hers off of ebay and then will sell them back on ebay – they hold up so well. I wish I had done it!

  4. Jeff9 says:

    The best way to clean cloth diapers is to pre-rinse them off in the toilet using a Hand Bathroom Bidet Sprayer. So convenient and if you are trying to help the environment (and your pocket book) you can give it a double whammy by virtually eliminating toilet paper use at the same time as you benefit from using it on the diapers, by using it on yourself. I think Dr. Oz on Oprah said it best: “if you had pee or poop on your hand, you wouldn’t wipe it off with paper, would you? You’d wash it off” Available at http://www.bathroomsprayers.com they come in an inexpensive kit and can be installed without a plumber. And after using one of these you won’t know how you lasted all those years with wadded up handfuls of toilet paper. Now we’re talking green and helping the environment without any pain. One review: http://jonathanandandrea.blogspot.com/2009/04/spray-it-or-scrub-it.html

  5. Jenny says:

    I had to convince my husband to cloth, also… he thought it was a fad and was like, “whatever…” BUT he has NO problem at all with it now. It’ so easy. We used disposables on our first 2 and cloth on our baby (who just turned a yea)… wish I would’ve known about them sooner. We use Bum Genius 3.0 and have a diaper sprayer connected to our toilet. Good LUCK!

Talk To Me

