Don’t Just Focus On The Outside

"Your adornment must not be merely external, braiding the hair, and wearing gold jewelry, or putting on dresses; but let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the imperishable quality of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is precious in the sight of God." 1 Peter 3:3-4 (NASB)

In my quiet time a couple of days ago, this passage literally jumped and smacked me in the face.  I had read it many times before, and I am quite certain I could recite it back to you if you ever asked me about it.  The truth is, it hadn't really grabbed ahold of  my heart until Friday.  The reason this passage really struck a chord with me was because that very day I was complaining about my hair and how it needed to be done, and that I needed new clothes because I was so sick of wearing my maternity clothes. I was so focused on my outer appearance (and to be fair my hair does look atrocious and I do need new clothes, but that is beside the point right now) that I wasn't really worried about the condition of my heart and whether I was nourishing it spiritually and working towards being beautiful inside.  To be sure, I was humbled by this passage.

Often times there are folks in christianity who take this verse to the EXTREME and feel that any effort made towards looking attractive, stylish and put together is vain and unnecessary. After all, the bible does say do not focus on the external but rather internal does it not?  But I don't exactly take it that far.  I, and others, do not feel that I need to forgo my efforts in keeping up my personal appearance just to appear holy! I will even go so far as to say that I am a happily married woman, and quite frankly, I would like to stay that way and I want my husband to think I am hot! I don't want him to come home to a wife  who has been spit up on, peed on and hadn't taken a shower all day!  That is soooo not hot! The bible merely asks us to consider our actions and to not become so obsessed with our outer appearance, which will fade, wrinkle, droop over time as we age, that we forget to nurture our relationship with Christ and focus on becoming more like Him daily. 

I want to be more like Him.  Will I sometimes have to sacrifice my desire for a new outfit or not have the latest thing on the market? Of course.  I shop at Forever21,  I have never been to Beverly Hills and quite frankly my hair is often two months overdue for color.  But I am okay with that.  I am learning that I will appear far more beautiful to others and more importantly to my Lord when my heart and attitude reflects the one I profess to serve and adore.  I have by no means perfected having a gentle and quiet spirit, but I am striving, taking in His word and praying it permeates my heart and my mind.  That in the end, when I go home and meet with my Savior face to face, He will say to me "Well done my faithful daughter. Welcome home."

And that makes looking heavenward so much more appealing each day.  Soon and very soon…..

Tiff~  

One thought on “Don’t Just Focus On The Outside

Talk To Me

