Where My Heart Is At

IMG_0317

Lately, I have been feeling extremely burdened.  Like having a very heavy heart.  But I am not sure I can completely verbalize why.  But I thought I would try.

You see Dan and I, together, lead a group of Young Adults.  Our ministry is called Illuminate and we absolutely love our group. We love what God has allowed us to do and we are humbled that we get to serve side by side in ministry and share about Jesus. 

My heart is aching because I want to see Him move.  Let me explain.  Yesterday during our Illuminate leadership meeting Dan revealed his heart to the team and read from Acts 2.  When the Holy Spirit was poured out among the believers and the gospel spread like wildfire and churches grew.  People came to Christ DAILY.  Churches were seeing new believers ALL THE TIME.

"Day by day continuing with one mind in the temple, and breaking bread from house to house, they were taking their meals together with gladness and sincerity of heart, praising God and having favor with all the people. And the Lord was adding to their number day by day those who were being saved." Acts 2: 46-47 NAS

My question is this…why isn't this happening at churches all over the country.  I mean why is it happening at only a select few?  Why not every church who teaches that Christ is Lord and Savior.  When we are commanded to take the Gospel into the most remote places of the earth and to be a neighbor to those around us….why aren't we seeing more of this type of church here.  Why?

I am going to be honest and say this. I want to see people coming to Christ every Sunday, being baptized, shouting praises to Him, dropping to their knees before Him, being challenged to tell others about Him. 

I hear a lot of people say that it shouldn't be about numbers, but discipleship.  While I can understand what they mean the truth is this…every "number" that walks in through our church doors is a soul.  A soul that possibly does not know Christ. A soul that will go to hell if he/she dies before they make that choice.  Harsh? Maybe, but it is the truth.  If they leave your service and they do not understand that their own soul is at stake, about the reality of hell and about the grace that God offers us so freely through the blood of His Son, then you have missed the boat.

I also hear a lot of people say "evangelism is not my strength."  "I am not good at it."   "That's the pastor's job."  My friends no.  It is your command as well as the Pastor's.  Doesn't the Great Commission command all of us to go? If we are heartbroken over those who don't know Jesus then what are we heartbroken for?  Why do we come to church if all we are going to do is just warm the bench?  Get up! Get out!  Who do you love? Tell them about Grace.

God's

Riches

At

Christ's

Expense

He died for us. A horrible, painful, ugly death. A death that WE should have.  Instead He took our sins upon Himself. And because of that we have eternal life.  I am so grateful for this.

I just want to see God move everywhere, not at just a few churches, but at all of the Bible believing churches.  I want to hear that across the country people are coming to Christ.  Being baptized. Celebrating a new life. 

Don't you?

Tiff~

Talk To Me

