When To Speak

Unless you are living under a rock you know that the Health care bill passed.

But that is not what I am going to blog about today.

Yesterday on Twitter a friend of mine tweeted an observation she had regarding those who had rather unfavorable positions toward the bill. And her next comment made me cringe.

She said the some of the biggest Christians she knew were the ones stooping to name calling and rude behavior.

The ones who call themselves followers of Christ were the ones who were putting down others.

I have seen some ugly posts myself. And I know that I can tend to alienate others when I have an opinion about something and post it on facebook or Twitter. I am not trying to alienate, but in reality that is probably the result I get.

I think there is a time and place to speak up. There are some things in this world that I cannot help but speak up about. But I wonder if facebook and Twitter is really the best outlet for my emotions.

History tells me no. While we should all stand up for what we believe in, we should never resort to tearing each other down or bullying those of an opposing opinion.

Especialy if we say we are Christians. I hate hearing about Christ’s church being involved in mudslinging. I know I have done it a few times whenever I get so fired up about something. I don’t think before I speak….or type!

What do you think?

Tiff~

3 thoughts on “When To Speak

  1. shalay says:

    Oh Tiff, I just love you.
    One place I consider totally acceptable to share our opinions is our blogs. They’re OURS and people choose to visit them to read what we’re thinking, they’re not subjected to them unwillingly as they check their Facebook. I respect others’ rights to form their opinions, and I don’t even mind reading about it, as long as they don’t stoop to name calling or downright meanness. That’s unacceptable behavior for anyone, regardless of their religious background or political party. 🙂

  2. Pamee Booher says:

    WOW! I read a blog a while ago… I so wish I could remember whose… =( but… it was saying that we should write just in case the person that we are “talking about” will read it!! You never KNOW who will read them! It happened that whoever they were bad mouthing got on their page and actually read it… AND I really do believe that we as CHRISTIANS need to remember – Philippians 4:8
    Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.
    This has really been on my heart lately… even on my own blog… I so WANT to write what I feel… BUT I want it to be in a positive light… I wanted to write about my grand daughters… and what is being taught to them – BUT I really think that my son and DIL would eventually find it AND be hurt… AND not let us see the girls anymore! I really have to be careful… I want to be JESUS to them… even on my blog!!
    This is a real heart issue for me right now… I do believe we NEED to take a stand… BUT, I really KNOW that bashing any PERSON is not right… they may READ my blog… or FB… or any other internet site I may be involved in!
    Jesus only SAID things against the Pharisees… NOT the Gentiles!
    Sorry this is long… but it is on my heart these days!

Talk To Me

