Patience and Self-Control

On Monday, the Good Morning Girls blog posted it's first challenge of the session by memorizing Galatians 5:22-23.  The fruit of the Spirit. 

They then asked us to identify which characteristics we often find we lack or really struggle with.  I have two.  And I am learning that they are linked together more often than not.

I have spoken on my lack of patience before.  I tend to be very particular about certain details, the speed in which things need to be done and how they need to be done and whether or not they understand me quickly enough.  I often fail to show grace to individuals if they seem to take a little longer to complete projects or interpret tasks and situations than I'd like.  It isn't pretty when I lose my patience.  I can literally feel my skin crawl and my mind working up ways to try and rush the individual.

It angers me when I do this to my husband and my children.  When I lack patience with them, I fail to extend grace to them.  And most often they can feel my impatience through my words.  I begin to lack the self control and I don't bridle my tongue. When I lose my patience, words that hurt or cut tend to flow from my lips. The same lips that worshiped my Lord and Savior are the lips that yell at my husband and children to hurry up or to get it right.

So I am laying this at the feet of the Father.  For only He can fill me with the ability to have true godly patience and the self control that comes from the Holy Spirit. 

"But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law." Galatians 5:22-23.

I will ask you the same question.

What characteristic(s) of the fruit of the Spirit do you feel you are lacking? 

Blessings,

Tiff~

Talk To Me

