I Am Not Dead But Alive

This morning, I was profoundly moved by what I read during my quiet time.  This past week, I have been a wreck, beating myself up over every single failure, minor slip up of the tongue, my lack of patience with my family.  You name it, I probably felt and did it this week. 

But praise be to God that I don't have to be a slave to this.  This behavior is no longer who I am. 

In Romans 8, Paul tells us that if we have the Holy Spirit dwelling within us (and all of us who are believers do) then we are free from the law of sin. 

Sin=death. 

But Christ, who was risen from the dead by our heavenly Father, equals life.  Eternal  life.  The supernatural ability to overcome the fleshly desires that so often wage war against us.

Do we sin? We sure do. And we will until Christ's return.

But we are not a slave to it.  This means that our life is no longer run by our sin or flesh…..but it is controlled by the Holy Spirit.  When we set our mind on the Spirit, there  is life and peace (Romans 8:6b NAS). The Holy Spirit is our helper who directs us, convicts us, changes us, molds us to be like Jesus.  It takes discipline and we need to obey and listen…..but with the Spirit we have the ability.

It was this passage today that blew me away.  Literally, I had to stop, reflect, write it down in my journal and on a note card for memorization:

"But if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who dwells in you."

God gives us life through the indwelling of the Holy Spirit in our lives.  Our bodies, though dead to sin, were brought to life through Christ Jesus. 

Hallelujah. Amazing Grace.

Be blessed friends.

Tiff~

P.S. I realize that not everyone who stops by my blog shares my beliefs.  If you ever have any questions, please do not hesitate to leave it in the comments or email me.

Talk To Me

