Keeping His Word in My Heart

Memorizing and meditating on scripture has never been my strength.  I am a quick reader and while I can for the most part remember what the topic was, I have a hard time remembering where it was in the bible.

In my quest to change how I study the bible, I am making it a priority to choose at least one passage of scripture a week to memorize and meditate on. I want His words to sink so deep into my heart that I cannot help but speak them from the overflow and spread His promises to those around me.  His word is like living water to me, especially during those times when my well feels dry and empty, in desperate need of replenishment. 

I was hugely inspired by this post over at the Good Morning Girls blog. As a young mommy of 2 little munchkins, I can't always escape for a couple of hours to sit at His feet.  When I was in my early twenties and a single gal, I used to spend a ton of time (and money!) at Starbucks just reading and recording my thoughts and finds.  I long for those days, and when my children are older then I am sure those days will return (right?). But for now, my responsibility is to be a wife and mommy.

But I still desire His word so I am challenging myself to meditate on His promises so that even when I am unable to find the time to open the Bible, I can dig into my heart which has stored the riches of God and be filled for the day.

How about you?  Are you able to find time throughout the day to sit at His feet? Are you memorizing and meditating?

Tiff~

One thought on “Keeping His Word in My Heart

  1. Gina Garland says:

    Awww…me too. 🙂 I just finished reading a book called, “Don’t Make Me Count to Three” by Ginger Plowman. I was totally inspired to make God’s word soo apart of my every day language that my kids are hearing it, using it, and allowing it to penetrate straight to the heart. So now I’ll say things to Jordan like, “Are you putting on truthfulness and putting off lies?” It’s been really good. Leave it to my kids to challenge me, in a totally indirect way, to have His word in my heart and mind…at all times. I’m soo insufficient without Him!

Talk To Me

