No Unwholesome Talk

When I was in Jr. High and High School..I was a rather angry individual.  On the outside, I am sure I appeared outgoing and happy most of the time.

But the tiniest thing would set me off into a huge rage.  I remember throwing things at walls in my bedroom and screaming at the top of my lungs if things didn't go my way or someone made me angry.  Usually this was directed at the people who loved me the most…..my family.

I would say the most vile and disgusting things.  I really don't like to think back on that girl. She makes me really sad.

But sometimes, pieces of her resurface.

And that makes me really sad.

There are times when I still get upset.  While I haven't resorted to throwing furniture in my house, I do sometimes say unkind words to those I love. Especially to my husband.  I forget to let the Spirit rule my actions and instead I react out in the flesh.  It is the most frustrating part of being a Christian.  Trying to walk as Jesus did and yet realizing that we are still battling the carnal, sinful part of ourselves.

This morning in my quiet time (I really needed it, especially today) I reread Ephesians 4. I felt the Lord directing me to a passage to meditate on.

Ephesians 4:29: "Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear".

It isn't just speaking about bad language, although this definitely applies.  It is speaking about words that are rotten.  Speaking badly to people, angry words that hurt instead of offer grace and mercy.  Our words to each other should be filled with grace and love. 

And that goes for speaking the truth to people. Speak the truth in LOVE.  If your speech isn't loving, it won't encourage a person to change or help them in any way. 

In fact, it will probably just encourage anger…and more unwholesome (rotten) talk.

Tiff~

Talk To Me

