Teaching Her His Word

IMG_0080

Today at Raising Homemakers it is Polished Cornerstones Link up Day!

I have to tell you a funny story about the photo above.  Last week, I was reading my bible on the dining room table.  I had to leave for a moment due to a couple of cute kids needing my attention (nap time was over….sigh).  

I left my bible open to where I was studying so that I could instantly return to it once the time became available.

Madi loves my bible. She thinks it is beautiful.  So naturally when she saw it on the table she began looking through it, turning the pages back and forth. 

Then I heard….

"Uh-Oh…..Mommy!"

I looked over and there she was, holding a page from my bible in her small hand.

And the irony?  

She had ripped out Ephesians 5.

Apparently she has issues with this passage. 

I hope you enjoyed that little funny moment in our lives as I try to teach and train Madi in God's word. 

Now what is Polished Cornerstones?  It is a wonderful tool for parents to train their daughters to be godly women. It is an awesome book to use from ages 4 to 18.  The chapters/subjects are based on Proverbs 31:10-31 and there are a ton of projects and lessons broken down into beginner, intermediate and advanced young ladies.  The ladies at Raising Homemakers can give you more details on how to get a copy at a discount.

Madi and I are working on submission.  She is having a hard time obeying us lately and I want to tackle this now instead of later.  I chose this verse for her to memorize this week:

Exodus 20:12 "Honor your Father and your mother, that your days may be long in the land that the Lord your God is giving you."

A perfect first verse for her.  Together we are going through it 3 times a day. At breakfast, lunch and dinner.  She is loving the time that she and I get to spend together and I am loving the time I get to teach her about our Lord and how to be a godly young woman.  I am excited to try the other projects with her as well.

Are you participating?  Check out Raising Homemakers to learn more!

 Tiff~

 

6 thoughts on “Teaching Her His Word

  1. Debbie says:

    That’s so great – and I LOVED her response to Ephesians 5. lol My girls are always gettting into my Bible, too. I forgot to mention this, but we are memorizing Proverbs 31:10 for our verse these couple of weeks.

  2. Tiffany Harper says:

    Hehe Ladies. And when I showed my husband he thought I thought I did it and chose Madi as a scapegoat. Awesome! LOL!!!!!! I get the stink eye every so often from him. hehe.

Talk To Me

