Our Downfall

"If you do well, will you not be accepted? And if you do not do well, sin is crouching at the door. Its desire is for you, but you must rule over it." Genesis 4:7

Sometimes, I go through the motions.  

Sometimes I read my bible because I am excited to learn more about my Savior and hold His promises in my heart.  But sometimes, I read because it is on my to do list.  

Sometimes I tithe because I enjoy being obedient to God and giving Him what He deserves after all He has given me. And sometimes I tithe because, well, I feel I have to.

Sometimes I do things joyfully. Other times I do it out of Christian duty.  Have you ever been guilty of this?

I think for the majority of us, if we are being honest with ourselves, tend to things because the Bible tells us so.  It isn't that we don't love God, but we are more worried about our appearance than we are about our devotion to Him.  Whether it is reading our Bible, tithing, attending church, praying or whatever else we can think of….we sometimes do it out of Christian duty.

Cain was the son of Adam and Eve.  You would think he would be the son of promise and hope.  But in my bible commentary…it is clear he lines up with the curse that was administered to man.  

He created an altar of sacrifice to God with his fruits and vegetables that were harvested…but God did not accept it.  Why?  He did what he was supposed to didn't he?

His heart wasn't in it.  He did it out of obligation….not because of his love and devotion to God.  

God spoke to Cain saying that if he did well (with a full and devoted heart) God would accept his offerings. But if not, then sin was crouching at the door. It wanted to overtake him, but he could master it.

Instead, in his anger that God rejected his offering, and instead of desiring to quickly re mediate the situation so that he could be in God's favor, he choose to sin.  He chose to murder his brother.  

How many of us do the same thing?  When we perform for God and do all that we are supposed to, yet God doesn't bless us or answer our prayers as we would like. He doesn't accept our gifts, our sacrifices.  We may not murder another individual….but we can choose to sin.  

We may choose to reject God and His discipline, forgetting that He loves us as His children and that discipline and teaching is necessary for our growth.  Yes we may choose to be jealous over the person whom God does appear to be blessing with many opportunities and gifts.  We choose to SIN.  

The above verse in Genesis brought much encouragement and conviction to my heart.  Today has been a day of obligation…..one where my heart hasn't been completely connected to the Holy Spirit.  I have a choice to make.  I seek Him by falling on my face, lying prostrate before Him, seek forgiveness and fix this hard heart of mine. Or I can choose sin as comfort.

Are you in this place?  I pray God's word encourages you and you can seek His face and mercy today!

Tiff~

PS. I use the Bible Knowledge Commentary by Walvoord and Zuck for my quiet time studies.  I find it helps me greatly when studying scripture.

2 thoughts on “Our Downfall

  1. Jenny says:

    You know, you are the FIRST person I’ve heard give this reason as to why God wasn’t happy with Cain’s ‘sacrifice’. I don’t know what commentary you got that out of, but that’s a book I need to buy!
    I’ve always heard that God didn’t accept it because it was fruit of the ground, which had been cursed. But that didn’t add up; This was his profession. God obviously had accepted it before, why not now? Also, during the time of the wilderness wanderings, there were PLENTY of sacrifices which God commanded them to give that were from the ground. Not just fruits and vegetables, but grain and wheat.
    THANK YOU for this enlightenment! Finally! An interpretation that makes sense!

  2. Tiffany Harper says:

    This was the first time I had heard of it explained this way. The commentary I used is The Bible Knowledge Commentary by Walvord and Zuck. They come in a set of 2 OT and NT. LOVE them!!!
    Thanks Jenny! I am glad it made sense to you! I was wondering if I made any sense at all LOL!!!

Talk To Me

