Obedience

Obedience is so important in our relationship with  God. Our lack of obedience hinders our prayer life, blessings, opportunities to serve, to minister and oh so much more.  

It grieves our Lord's heart when we disobey Him.  

I just started my study of the book of Jonah using Priscilla Shirer's new book Jonah: Navigating a Life Interrupted .  My mind is being blown to pieces by the way she tells the story and recreates the images of Jonah's journey that includes running from God…and then surrendering to His will.

It is a good one y'all. 

But the last couple of days, the word that has struck the biggest cord with me is: Obedience.

We will have times in our lives when things don't go according to plan.  Sometimes we will be excited about these changes, other times, well not so much. But God still requires our obedience in these times.  Are you obeying Him? Am I?

This is a hard one for me. I am independent and a control freak by nature.  By my sinful nature I should add.  To just throw my hands up and say "OKAY" is especially hard for me because I like to control and predict the outcomes.  But I am directed to the Scriptures to others who have situations invade their lives and their actions had an eternal impact:

Noah

Esther

Abraham

Gideon

Moses

Ruth

David

Mary (the mother of Jesus)

We have so many examples that God has loving given us to see that His hand is with us, He is always with us and He requires obedience.  If we love Him, we will obey Him. 

Because if choose not to obey Him, then we could be missing out on something so magnificent, something that impacts the Kingdom.  We won't always know the end result, but that isn't the point.  

Obedience is.

Tiff~

Talk To Me

