Being Like A Child

We are at the park one morning after breakfast.  The days had been rapidly heating up lately by 11:00 AM so I thought it would be best to take them outside before it became unbearable. 

Madi, who never misses an opportunity to play outside, was skipping and jumping around, so excited to meet new people on the playground. 

That is who she is.

Madi Preschool
 

As we arrived to the playground, I saw that there was another mother there with her little girl.  Madi saw her and instantly turned to me with big, gleeful eyes and asked "Mommy, can I play with my new friend?"

I inwardly groaned.  It wasn't because I didn't want Madi to make new friends. It was that I didn't want to make new friends. My daughter is one of the friendliest and happiest children I know.  She loves easily and anyone she meets instantly earns the title of "friend".  There is no application process with her.

When Madi plays, I have this horrible habit of telling her to keep to herself. To not bug anyone. To stop trying to interact with other people and just play by herself. 

It is because of my selfishness of not wanting to interact with other people I put Madi in the position of being selfish.  

I want to be more like Madi.  

Yes, being an adult I just can't instantly start calling adult women friends and talk to every single one of them. But I need to get out more and interact more with these mothers in my community.  Many of them have stories to tell, hurts, struggles and advice that could help me in my own parenting.  I am not as outgoing as Madi is.  It takes me a long while to open up and let individuals in.  It is the jaded part of my heart that believes keeping to myself will keep me from being hurt. 

But Madi has been teaching me (imagine that) that keeping to myself doesn't make you safe. It just makes you lonely.  And you miss out on a lot of opportunities for God to minister through you to other women who need Him. 

I want to be more like Madi.

Tiff~

2 thoughts on “Being Like A Child

  1. Pam says:

    I love you and I adore Madi. Thanks for your vulnerability in sharing lessons from life. You’re a fabulous mom and you are blessed.

  2. DJ at The Quiet Quill says:

    Oh, my goodness, I can totally relate to this post. I am a very introverted person – slow to warm up to new people and new situations. But my oldest daughter is like your Madi, extremely cheerful everywhere we go, always eager to make new friends. Honestly, all her social-ness is draining to me, yet, after 15 years of being her mom, I can honestly say that I have learned SO much from her about loving others selflessly and about valuing the different gifts that different people bring to the table. It’s amazing how much we can learn from our kids!
    Great post! This is my first time here. I came over from the Weavers. And I’m so glad to “meet” you.

Talk To Me

