Forgive Me If I Sound Heated

I am just a little weary and angry.

Not at anyone in particular. Not at life or at my husband or my children.

I am, though, a little weary and angry at all the talk going on about certain methods of ministry. Who’s wrong and right. Who is operating biblically and who isn’t. (according to whom is the question I want to ask). I have done my best to hold my tongue, share my voice with my husband and God about how I feel.

I am just tired of the pettiness between people and those who think they know all about ministry and what they believe is the right way to reach others for Christ.

Actually, I am not reading much about those trying to reach the lost. It is mostly about the inside of the church walls. How they can make their churches more appealing to their families. Forget about those on the outside. Does that seem harsh? Abrasive? Please forgive me. I don’t want to sound that way. But lately that is the idea I am getting from some of these blogs.

We all talk a big game about reaching those who don’t know Christ. We want to change the world. We talk about inviting those who are “unsaved” into our homes and ministering to them there. But I don’t read about that happening in those blogs. I read a lot about their idea of the right way to do ministry, we like to throw out scripture that is sometimes taken out of context in order to fit our ideas of what the church should look like.

I actually have been reading more about those who literally keep themselves and their children away from all things that doesn’t fit their idea of Christianity. Should we protect our children? Yes. But to constantly ostracize them….I just don’t know. (I am not talking about those who homeschool by the way.)

I wonder what these people would do if they visited our college/young adult group. Where we have many young men and women who are tatooed, have been abused sexually and emotionally. Who have a history of drug and alcohol abuse. That we sometimes have visitors who wear clothing that can be inappropriate.

I bet they would freak out. I wonder how much exposure some of these individuals have with those who didn’t grow up in the church.

But they talk a lot about saving the lost.

Listen carefully. Stop all the yapping about the right way, wrong way to do ministry. What I want to read on your blogs is not how to make church better for those on the inside. I want to know about those from the outside going in are coming out changed. I want to read that those who did not know our Lord and Savior found hope in Him within your walls, and that they are being baptized in the name of the Father, The Son and the Holy Spirit. Should the church meet the needs of the congregation. Certainly, yes. But it should not stay there. The flock needs to be taught and trained to go out into the world and share the gospel with those around them.

Let’s stop attacking mega churches, smaller churches, whether they have youth groups or not…..if that church is a BIBLE believing and teaching church, then let’s pray that God is moving and blessing those ministries and that His Kingdom is growing.

And if we really want to change the world, then let’s really do it and stop talking about it.

Tiff~

4 thoughts on “Forgive Me If I Sound Heated

  1. Kristen says:

    I just found you from a comment you left on another blog that addressed some stuff here. I followed the link because I completely agreed with what you said there and what you said here.
    Honestly, I’ve stopped reading many, many blogs because of these very things. It breaks my heart.
    I’d love to see us readily respond to Him without worrying about who is doing what wrong in ministry. . .

  2. Jill says:

    As a very active member of a mega church that is often under attack by bloggers who have nothing good to say and seem to want to tear the body of Christ down with ridicule(and homeschooler), I couldn’t agree with you more.
    I often find those who ridicule most are the ones who sit on the back pew (or don’t come at all but tune in via internet, tv or radio), arms crossed and a perpetual frown on their face, seemingly daring the pastor and those in leadership to bless them…”let’s see what you’ve got for me today” kind of mentality. I’m sure that satan is enjoying using them to cause strife and division…..and I find this so very sad.
    Those of us who are actively involved do so not because we believe the church is perfect…..no church on earth will be perfect because a church is filled with sinners, most who are striving to grow in the Lord but will never achieve perfection until Heaven. There is joy and fulfillment in serving, reaching out, & being part of the bigger picture.
    Sorry, didn’t mean to write a book….but your post hits a nerve. I wholeheartedly agree with you.

  3. Tiffany Harper says:

    Jill…thank you for sharing your heart with me. When we serve the body, we put our hearts out there and sometimes we bleed. But oh how good our God is and how gracious and merciful He is to all of us. My hope is that I can extend some grace and mercy back to those whom I feel attack my ministry.

Talk To Me

