Path to Freedom

Every year I try to memorize more scripture.

And every year I fail.

It isn't that I don't read God's Word. I really do try to take the time to think on the things that I have read and try to log it into my long term memory and apply it to my life. But it appears that I never really instituted a  plan in order to make sure those truths invaded my heart.

I wanted them to be there permanently.  Not for just a moment.

So this year, I joined Living Proof Ministries Scripture Memory Team 2011. Part of this journey I am taking towards living a life of Thanksgiving is to memorize the Words of the One who gave me life and gave it to me abundantly. His promises are full of love and liberty and freedom from the very things I have found myself in bondage over: anxiety, stress, worry, lack of trust.  I want to break free of this.  I don't just want to profess to be a Christian who has found life.

I want to actually live that. 

I want to break free of anything that has its hold on me.  I am finding the memorization of His word is a balm to this weary heart.  Even though my circumstances are still the same…His peace has truly surpassed all understanding.  You know that verse.  

The one we have read and recited hundreds of times….yet a few of us have never truly claimed and believed it.

Believe it.  

Here are a few of the verses I have memorized this past year:

 "I will praise the name of God with a song; I will magnify Him with thanksgiving." Psalm 69:30

"The one who offers thanksgiving as his sacrifice glorifies me; to one who orders his way rightly I will show the salvation of God." Psalm 50:23

"The Lord God is a sun and a shield,

The Lord bestows favor and honor. 

No good thing does He withhold from those who walk uprightly" 

Psalm 84:11

Currently memorizing:

"You keep Him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You." Isaiah 26:3

How are you doing with your word of the year?  Have you committed to memorizing more scripture this year? 

Tiff~

Talk To Me

