I’m Running a Race

The last 6 weeks I have been training for a 5K.

You know, a race that is only 3 miles long. 

I haven't run a race since high school, so I am trying to re-teach myself how to run properly. 

Also, I am a huge wuss and 3 miles sounds very, very long to me. LOL!

This post by Sarah Markley cracked me up because that is definitely me and how my training has been. While I am not running in a 1/2 Marathon (and btw she is running for an excellent cause. Please support her and her team if you can) my whole mindset towards training can and has become swayed by my schedule, or lack of one, and all the mental and physical obstacles that can come along the way.

It makes me think a lot about my journey as a believer.  I can get so sidetracked by all the pretty and wrapped of gifts this world offers us that my own race as a Christian can become stalled.  

And come to think of it, with all of the hoopla surrounding one man's prediction that Christ is rapturing His church tonight (at 6 PM to be exact) and all the jokes that are appearing on my twitter stream…..it sure is easy to slack off in being  ready for when He really will come.

And He will come!  

Is He coming tonight? I don't know. No one knows. Not even this Harold who predicted He would. Let me repeat…NO ONE KNOWS!  So I may see you tomorrow and I may not. 

So because no one knows, I am going to keep on keeping on. I will not quit training for my 5K and I will not quit in growing as a Christian. In telling others about He who saves.

One race is earthly and I may receive an earthly medal.

The other has far more eternal significance. This race deserves far more attention and alertness.  

"Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last forever. Therefore I will not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air. No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize." I Corinthians 9:24-27

Blessings,

Tiff~

Talk To Me

