You Are Not One Dimensional

Yesterday I was reading one of my favorite fashion blogs titled “Why Are Mormons So Cool?” I appreciated her answers as to why she is able to blog about fashion and creativity and her home life.  Her faith drives her and her church teaches a principle that many of us who are Christian will find familiar: they are taught to “engage ourselves in ways that enlarge our capacity for happiness {and seek out those things that are “virtuous and lovely”}”.

The latter half of this quote sounds familiar doesn’t it?

Philippians 4:8 “Finally brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable-if there is any moral excellence and if there is any praise-dwell on these things”.

While this blogger and I are of a differing faith, I completely understand her perspective.

Sometimes I get the sense from other Christians that if you talk about things other than the Bible, Jesus, The Holy Spirit, the local church it is ungodly and you are putting your hope and trust in other things. While there is no doubt that there are those who worship their passions and lusts of money, fashion etc., I feel that it is okay to talk about what excites you.

What do you love to do? Do you sing? Dance? Scrapbook?

Being a pastor’s wife I often feel the pressure to just talk about the local church. And I love talking about it. Believe me. Ministry is something I love.

But honestly I also love health and fitness..so much I decided recently to start my own business helping others reach their own health and fitness goals.

I enjoy cute clothes. You have seen my previous posts about my favorite shops.

I love singing and acting. I watch Pageants on TV.

I find these these things to be pleasurable and gifts from God. Singing and acting is something I get to use for ministry. The same with encouraging others to take care of themselves.

Shopping for cute clothes means I get to look good for the man I promised to be faithful to until “death we do part”.

Find what you love, thank God for it, find the balance in enjoying it and not worshiping it….and then go. Share with others. Love on them. Be visible evidence of God’s love.

Instead of focusing and talking so much on what Christians are doing wrong (and by doing that pushing others who are searching for truth away in the process) be consistent in your character and your content. Believe me, people will want to know where you find your joy.

You are not one dimensional, but a beautiful, intricate design by our Creator.

Tiff~

Talk To Me

