Don’t Be Afraid To Try New Things

  Photo from Christmas 2010

This sweet little gal is outgoing, fun, friendly and happy…most of the time.

She is not, however, very adventurous.

That accolade belongs to my son who is too adventurous for me and he gives me a heart attack daily.

Madi can be very timid when it comes to trying out new foods or new activities.  It can be a real battle in our household whenever I try out a new recipe for the family to enjoy (and it just so happens to be healthy!).  She will start to cry, pout, stall, and whip out all of her tricks and tools in order to avoid trying anything new.

She is a creature of comfort. She knows what she likes and she chooses not to stray too far away from her preferences.

Last night was one of those instances where she had to try a new soup for dinner.  She didn’t want to. She cried big crocodile tears. I told her all she had to do was take a couple of bites. If she didn’t like it, she didn’t have to finish it.  She finally conceded to my suggestion.

And guess what.

She loved it.  And she asked me tonight before she went to bed to make it again.

How often are we like children? Afraid to try new things? To step out of our comfortable little settings and activities? I have nothing against being comfortable. But I don’t want to be in that place forever.

Is this you? Are you too comfortable to move?

You are in a relationship that seems to go nowhere, but you stay. Comfortable.

In a job you don’t really enjoy, but the pay is good so you will put up with it. Comfortable.

There is an opportunity you would love to jump on, but you hesitate to try because you don’t want to rock the steady boat you are currently on.  You don’t want to take risks. Comfortable.

I could go on and on with examples, but I am sure you get the gist of what I am sharing with you.

Friends, a lot of times stepping out in faith does not equal comfortable. It can mean the exact opposite. It can stretch us, pull us and mold us into places and positions we never even imagined.  God can use anyone, but I really believe He wants us to be like clay…so that He can mold us and position us in the way He sees fit and aligns with His will for our lives. Madi had to submit full trust into me in regards to soup.  We must submit our full trust in God when it comes to stepping out of our comfort zone and in our lives.

I pray that today is the day that you try something new. That you pray for God to mold you, move you and perhaps make you a tad uncomfortable.

Blessings,

Tiff~

Talk To Me

