Heed Instruction

One of my absolute favorite books in the bible is the book of Proverbs.  At our Women’s Bible study this morning, we dug into this precious gem of a book and read about what God thinks of our ego.

It is not an easy subject to talk about.

Many of us would like to think that we are humble. We puff ourselves up a bit, pat ourselves on the back for all the good things we have done for other individuals.  How well we love our children and take care of our husbands.  And those are great things. There is nothing wrong with an occasional “atta girl!” moment.

However, I think when we read scripture and see ourselves what God has to say in regards to humility, we can see that perhaps we need more of it! I know I do!

“Whoever heeds instruction is on the path to life, but he who rejects reproof leads others astray”. Proverbs 10:17

This verse (as well as many others I will share in just a moment) spoke volumes to my heart this morning.  I often have a hard time receiving correction from my husband or family. I become defensive, attacked and as a result I fight back instead of listening to this person and trying to understand where they are coming from.  And while I fight back with my husband when he tries to lead me, I teach my children not  to respect him. Therefore, I am leading them astray!

I don’t know about you, but that absolutely makes me sad and humble before God in my sin.

I want to be able to receive correction and instruction without feeling like I am attacked. This will take daily submission on my part as I tend to be stubborn and act “self-sufficient”.  The truth is, I need God’s wisdom and His word to lead me in the correct path.

Here are a few more passages to meditate on regarding our egos:

Proverbs 8:13 “The fear of the Lord is hatred of evil. Pride and arrogance and the way of evil and perverted speech I hate”.

Proverbs 16:5 “Everyone who is arrogant in heart is an abomination to the Lord; be assured, he will not go unpunished”.

Proverbs 29:23 One’s pride will bring him low, but he who is lowly in spirit will obtain honor”. 

Proverbs 16:7 “When a man’s ways please the Lord, he makes even his enemies to be at peace with him”.

There are many more but I encourage you to study this incredible book as there are many gems to be found in there.

❤ Tiff~

Talk To Me

