Victory For Moms

Being a mom can sometimes feel like the most overwhelming and painful job in the world.  I am sure I am not the only one who has had steam coming out of her ears or raised her voice at her beautiful child because you had to ask her for the 100th time to pick up her toys. Or they are whining all day long over the silliest things.

And you keep asking yourself, “is it bedtime yet?”

Our patience can wane thin.  We are exhausted beyond belief.  We would like to go to the bathroom by ourselves and enjoy this wonderful concept of privacy that everyone talks about. *Ahem*

Sometimes, I feel as though I will never master or be victorious in the area of patience with my family.  In not allowing my frustrations to dictate how I react to the normal actions of a five and two year old.  How to discipline without being angry and harsh.

I love my babies to pieces.  I want to be a mother who, while firm, can bestow loving discipline upon my children.  So that they would know what a God fearing Mommy looks like.

I have felt like I can never be victorious, but God’s word says I CAN.

This past Sunday Pastor Shane spoke on Fasting with Purpose. I will be honest with you as I have often had the skewed perception that fasting was for, well, weirdo Christians.  Those who go around telling everyone that they are fasting and acting as though they are super spiritual. Oh and they  look absolutely miserable while fasting….and they keep telling everyone they are fasting.

But Shane shared that fasting is indeed Biblical and good!  We can fast for:

Worship

To hear God’s Voice

Repentance

For Victory

And I want to have victory.  I want to hear God’s voice clearly in the direction of how to care for my family and for ministry. I want to have victory over my sin of impatience and anger.

Are you a momma? Want to be a Mom? Newly married? Single?  Would you consider joining me on a day of fasting? Just one day to pray for victory over an area in our lives? It can be anything. Would you join me?

Next Thursday, March 1st will be a day I will specifically be praying and fasting for things I need to hear from God about.  I think it would be incredible if other women would join in on this day.  To pray for ourselves, our families and our ministries.

If you will be joining, please comment below.  You don’t have to be specific. It can be private. Just say….

“I’m In!”

Matt. 6:16-18: “And when you fast, do not look gloomy like the hypocrites, for they disfigure their faces that their fasting may be seen by others. ‘Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you fast, anoint your head and wash your face, that your fasting may not be seen by others but by your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.”

❤ Tiff

2 thoughts on “Victory For Moms

  1. Holly at 300 pounds down says:

    Im in! I love your explanation and this is something I’ve thought of doing before for numerous reasons but haven’t. I am a single mom of 4 kids and I live your positive spirit and your desire to raise your kids to love the Lord. I love the way your posts encourage me and I can’t tell you how much your comments and encouragement on twitter have meant to me. I will be doing this with you. Thanks for all you’re doing for Moms who want to better themselves!!

Talk To Me

