Healthy + Active Children= Happy Children

I don’t know about you, but I do my very best to refrain from using the words “fat” or “diet” in my house. I have two young children in my home, and one of them is a very observant six year old girl.  The last thing I want her to do is fall prey to the way society views and categorizes women.

Whenever I choose my items for dinner, I never tell her “Mommy is on a diet.” Never. If she asks why I am choosing a salad with veggies over Mac & Cheese, I will usually say something along the lines of:

“Salads give Mommy more energy to play with you guys.”

I can tell a difference when my kids have spent a lot of time in front of the TV as opposed to playing outside or doing creative activities.  A big difference. They are whinier, get bored easily, and they don’t take naps as well (if at all).

When I decided to take care of myself physically, I knew that my kids would be watching my every move.  And that my actions would set the tone.  I am loving it that now my kids see me working out and they want to join me.  While it is really hard for me to finish an intense ab workout with a two year old on top of me, I am comforted by the fact that they know it is fun and good for them.

She likes to grab my 2 lb weights and do planks.  Ha! 

They are happier whenever they get to run around, kick a soccer ball around, go swimming.  They rest better and are less whiny and far more obedient.  I make snack time as nutritious as possible. Fruit smoothies, Shakeology, fruits, and veggies with hummus.  They enjoy it! And they know when they put nutritious foods in their body, they have more energy to play. And isn’t that what we want them to do? Let them PLAY!

I don’t always get it right.  I am by no means perfect and I have gone through a drive-thru more than I would like to admit.  I am still learning about how to best cater to the health and needs of my family and to myself.

But I am finding that the more intent I am on making better decisions in food and in their activities, the more I get to enjoy moments like this:

❤ Tiff

Talk To Me

