When You Are Afraid

When it comes to our physical health, most of us know that there are things we need to change.

We know we should eat better.

We know we should work out.

We know we would feel much better in the long run, but gosh darn it we are just so tired and busy we don’t even know where to start.

I talk to many people about my fitness challenges that I do every month.  A lot of them I don’t hear back from.  But I don’t think it is because they don’t like me. And while cost can be a factor, most of the time I don’t think it is really that.

I believe it is fear.

The fear of FAILURE.

I can completely understand that fear. As someone who has struggled with fear and anxiety, it can be the most crippling emotion.  It keeps you from making decisions. It makes you second guess whether or not it is a worthy investment. That if you fail….you wasted something. (Time, money, resources etc.)

Or perhaps you want to change. You are ready to change. But you are afraid of the challenge.  That others would see.  That you would be exposed. Perhaps you want to move forward, but on your own terms.  You don’t want to do a challenge.

Wherever you are…..if you don’t try. You have already FAILED.

Do not let what you are afraid of make decisions for you.  We all have to start somewhere.

Whether you 10 minutes or 10 hours.

Whether you have a gym membership or not.

Whether you are married with 3 kids or a single college student.

It doesn’t matter.

You can make changes.  You can reach your goals.  You can succeed. You can be healthy. You can be strong. Forget about the pant size.  Think of how you will feel in the long run.

But you have to start.

I can help.

❤ Tiff

 

2 thoughts on “When You Are Afraid

  1. LifeAslizzy says:

    I totally hear ya on the fear thing! I havent been able to exercise for four years due to a lung disease (ran out of breath, was on Oxygen), so when the doctor told me two months ago that I could start walking. I was at first excited but when the day came to actually start, FEAR came over me! I didn’t want to fail. I didn’t want this miracle to be untrue. But I didn’t it! And this Saturday I will be walking a 5K with a bunch of friends supporting me!!! You are so right, fear can keep us from seeing BIG wonderful things.

    • tiffanyharper says:

      Lizzy this makes me so happy!!!! God is so good. And I am so proud of you for taking that Big first step. Fear can be crippling, but God does not want us to live in a state of fear. I can’t wait to hear how your 5K goes! ❤

Talk To Me

