Whole Wheat Pumpkin Pancakes

The last week and a half has been absolutely hectic for me and my family.  Between school, ministry and Madi having a short cheerleading course at a local High School, my time posting to social media had to be limited so that I could focus on the things that absolutely needed my full attention. I still worked out and ate (relatively clean) but unfortunately I have no photographic evidence. Ha!

What has absolutely saved my life the last week or so is making breakfast ahead of time for my loved ones.  I shared this as a food prep tip and I posted a photo of my Whole Wheat Pumpkin Pancakes which I whipped up this morning for future breakfasts.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. So please don’t skip it.  I know it can be hard, but with a little planning and prep, it won’t be so hard in the mornings to get something good in our bellies.

I took the basic Whole Wheat Banana Pancake recipe from 100 Days of Real Food and replaced the Banana with 1 cup of pumpkin.  I also added to the dry mix:

1 TBSP Cinnamon

1 tsp Nutmeg

1/4 tsp Pumpkin Pie spice

Mix all together and cook like a pancake.

The original recipe does call for Real butter (whole foods remember, not margarine!), but you can substitute applesauce instead for a lower fat content.

I have also made ahead of time granola and overnight oats as well as blending a Shakeology smoothie for them.  They never leave hungry.

Again, I realize that this does take extra time to prep and plan. But I know that most of us would much rather take the extra time to prepare something good for our families than to go without or settle for empty, unhealthy meals from a drive-thru window.

What are your favorite make ahead meals?

Tiff

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Pumpkin Pancakes

Talk To Me

