Not Everyone Will Like What You Believe

Yesterday  morning I posted this on my Instagram.  It was from Proverbs 16 and I loved it so much that I wanted to share it with my followers:

Who would have thought that such a simple, encouraging passage would make one person so upset?

I don’t get it very often, but occasionally I will get a person who will question what I believe. And they will say that I am ignorant, intolerant. The usual.  This person had an issue with the fact that I used the hashtag #shereadstruth. (Go check out their blog! They are reading through the book of Galatians right now).

But I will continue to post what I believe. I believe it is truth.

It can be so easy to cower and hide when someone questions our belief in God. They pick apart verses and use them against you, to counter what you believe…as if the Word of God can be used to refute that there is a God!

My friends don’t be afraid. For God has not given us the spirit of timidity but peace!  And why should we fear what people believe about us?  Didn’t Jesus say that He has overcome the world?  Didn’t He say that He is with you ALWAYS?

So when someone doesn’t like what you believe, offer grace, let them know you understand, share God’s love with them as often as you can. They have to make the decision as to whether or not they will believe it or accept God’s gift.

Have any of you ever experienced criticism personally for what you believe? Let this be a place where you can receive encouragement.

❤ Tiff

 

Talk To Me

