Leaders Don’t Point Fingers

 

I have the tendency to blame others when things don’t go the way I want.

Or I am unable to complete a task that desperately needed to be completed.

“It was because *fill in the blank here* happened” I find myself saying a lot.

Truth be told, that does not make me a very good leader. It just makes me a whiner. And a person who cannot take responsibility for their own actions.

I don’t really like that about me.

But I am finding that this type of attitude is not all that uncommon. We see it everywhere:

*In Politics

*In Ministry

*In Business

*In a marriage/family

It is easier to Blame than it is to accept our own shortcomings.  It is easier to shift attention to the shortcomings of someone else.

And while there are certainly times when it is another person’s fault or circumstances happen out of our control, a true leader does not blame or point fingers.

I watch my husband as he leads college students and advise his leadership team. If they fail at anything, he always takes responsiblity.

He believes that leadership is “top down”.

This means that he is in charge of those under him. Their short comings become his and he needs to figure out a way  to help them and encourage them as well as develop solutions WITH them so that what failed before will not become a failure again.

My husband is a great example of a leader. And I know you might think I am being biased but I don’t really care.  I have known this man for nearly 10 years.  I have seen every shortcoming possible of his. He is a great leader. (Okay I will stop now *smile*)

I am working on being woman who grows to accept that she will fail at times and that I can control the urge to make someone else responsible for my failures.

“A man can fail many times, but he isn’t a failure until he begins to blame someone else.” John Burroughs

What about you? Do you have a tendency to shift blame?

❤ Tiff

 

2 thoughts on “Leaders Don’t Point Fingers

Talk To Me

