Picking A Food Plan is So Confusing! Aaagh!

When I first began taking charge of my health and trying to force myself to eat better, (Okay yes there was some forcing… I LOVED my Chili Cheese Fries and Pizza. sigh.) figuring out the best type of meal plan or “diet” to pick from was really confusing.

There were so many choices!!!

Paleo. Vegan. Gluten Free. Sugar Busters. Atkins. Vegetarian. Pescatarian. Whole Foods only. Weight Watchers. Jenny Craig. Nutrisystem. Juicing.

Holy freaking cow.

I began to understand why getting started was so hard.

There was a lot of information out there and quite frankly a lot of it I didn’t understand.  Everyone one of those plans above had “scientific research” to back up why their plan worked the best.

Sure. Whatever.

Now I am not discrediting these plans and their research.  I only say it this way because it can be very confusing to the average consumer as to what is really best for THEM.

So I just got started. I didn’t pick any of those above and went with a comprehensive nutrition plan that was pretty basic and easy to understand but at the same time doable.

Something I could do over a lifetime.

And guess what? I tend to enjoy consuming Vegan/Vegetarian meals as much as possible because I love veggies and I don’t crave animal products all that much. That took time of course and a ton of experimenting.  But I say this because eventually you will figure out what it is exactly that your body needs and craves. Your body craves Nutrients, not calories.

Again, this is something I can do for the rest of my life!

And that is the key.

When you are doing your research as to what types of diet would best fit your lifestyle, family and budget keep this thing in mind and ask yourself this:

“Can I maintain this way of eating for the rest of my life? Or will this be another quick fix that ends up nowhere?”

There is no magic pill, drink, celebrity diet plan that will get you long term results.  You must put in the work. Tell yourself no to the things that, while provide pleasure for the moment, can harm you long term.

Focus on health first. Long Term Health.

If you have food allergies or disorders that prevent you from consuming certain food items, talk to your doctor!  A good doctor will work along side you to help you shed the fat and maintain a healthy, fit lifestyle.  Weight loss surgery (unless you will die without it) should always be last resort.

So do your research, but for right now, start simple. Cut out processed foods and focus mainly on incorporating more veggies and fruits as well as lean proteins in your diet. Master that and the rest will be easy to figure out.

❤ Tiff

 

 

Talk To Me

