Today We Pray for Newtown

Photo by CNN

Photo by CNN

Today I watched in absolute horror as the news unfolded with the details of a shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary school in Newtown, CT.

This shouldn’t happen.

Immediately, a flood of emotions crowded my heart and head. I have been crying for the past couple of hours since learning the news. Not wanting to watch the media yet not being able to turn away.

I want to help. I want to scream. I pray. I cry. I get angry. I want action. I want justice.

Instantly, my facebook feed was consumed with those who were experiencing much of the same type of reactions.  Some have even begun the discussion of gun control and homeschooling.

And truth be told, those thoughts are in my head as well.  And I know that I am going to be praying for God to guide my heart and our decisions when it comes to how we can protect and care and educate our children.  In my raw heart right now, I just don’t feel safe for Madi.

But today, I am grieving for parents who have been told that their baby is dead.  That they won’t be able to hug their sweet gift tonight.  I can imagine the literal anguish that must be in a mommy’s heart.  I never want to experience that pain and yet that is someone’s currently reality.

I am literally sick.

Friends, evil is very real in our world.  I watched President Obama’s press conference, touched as I watched his own heart breaking and he wiping away tears as he shared with us as the leader of our nation.  This is a tragedy that has happened far too often. Something has to be done.

For our children.

I don’t know what the answer is. I am not sure I am ready to get into the discussion this second.  President Obama shared scripture that is a favorite of mine and I want to pass it on:

Psalm 147:3

“He heals the broken-hearted and binds up their wounds.”

May God be close to those families today.

To those at Sandy Hook Elementary school, the Town of Newtown, CT…know that we are lifting you up. We are praying for you. We are crying with you.  You will not bear this tragedy alone.  We are here for you.

Tiff~

Talk To Me

