Santa Run 2012

I competed in my last race of 2012 and I was so thrilled to be able to do it with my husband!

Back in October, I signed both Dan and I up for the 5K Renegade Santa Run and since we paid for it, there was no backing out.  My husband hadn’t been in a race since he was in college so he was a little nervous but I told him 3 miles he can do.

184491_10200164017810056_1713901305_n

We arrived at the race location around 6:45, grabbed our packet and then sat in the car for about 30 minutes because it was FREEZING early in the morning. Holy cow. I am realizing that I do not have appropriate running attire for cold weather. Imagine if I lived in places where the weather was even more cold.

I am such a wussy California girl!

Anyway, we warmed up together. We got in the VERY BACK of the line because let me be very real here.

I. AM. SLOW. Ha!

I have come to terms with the fact that I will probably never be the fastest in my age bracket and I am okay with that. I am just really enjoy running to relieve stress, compete against myself and try and beat my time if I so desire.  I no longer feel the need to try and beat everyone I see. Although I am competitive so I might try to race past some folks ;).

Dan told me to go ahead of him so I did. I felt a little bad, but he gave me his blessing and off I went.

Running. Relieving all the stress and emotion I felt yesterday and carried into this gorgeous Saturday.  It was nice to relieve all of this in a healthy, physical way.  This is why I love this lifestyle.

I don’t have my official time yet, but I think I ran it around 34 minutes.  Pretty proud of myself.

We did it!

548578_10200164311697403_2040351042_n

What did you do on this beautiful Saturday?

Tiff~

2 thoughts on “Santa Run 2012

Talk To Me

