Be Intentional Friday

Martha

 

How many of you constantly have a running to do list in your head?

I do.  It seems like that list never gets smaller either.  After I have finished with one task, it is time to tackle another while simultaneously adding an extra thing to my plate.

It is a never ending battle of balance and the need to cross things off my list.

To feel accomplished. To justify how I used my time to the world.

I read Luke 10:38-42 this morning for my devotions.  And naturally, it was about Mary and Martha. Two sisters. Both who loved Jesus. But made very different choices in His presence.

Martha slaved away, trying to make everything perfect for Him and for the guests who would be in her home. She wanted to best food, the best plates, the best of everything. I don’t believe it was so she could show off. But because she genuinely wanted to serve Him and this was what she was good at. Hospitality was her thing!

Mary. Ah Mary. We all know those people.  The ones who know and see all the work that has to be done but chooses to do something different. I believe Mary loved her sister. And Mary wanted to help her sister. But she couldn’t help but be captivated by His presence and just sit. At His feet. And take in His words.  She would do her chores eventually. But she wanted to be near Him more than she wanted to impress Him.

How I am so like Martha and not Mary!  How often do I find myself running around like a chicken with my head cut off in order to meet the demands of my day and in the corner of my eye, by my favorite spot in the house is His word. Beckoning me to just sit. And drink Him in.

Our to do lists are not bad. We absolutely should be good stewards of our time and tend to our responsibilities. But Jesus said it perfectly to frazzled Martha.  As I share this Scripture, put your own name in place of Martha’s like I have done for me:

“But the Lord answered her, ‘Tiffany, Tiffany, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:41-42 ESV

One thing is most important. And when we choose that one thing, it will not be taken from us.  We can never say it was not time well spent. Because time with our Lord is precious.

Have a blessed Friday, friends.

Tiff~

Talk To Me

