Books that Push

I love reading books that push me mentally.

I love reading from authors who push the envelope a little bit. They experiment in ways that make people go “why would you do that? That is stupid.”

I am incredibly stubborn and if you tell me something is stupid….well I might just go prove you wrong. Or right. It depends on the experiment.

But I am rarely inspired by those who do the everyday. Who sit comfortably and refuse to move from their positions just because it is safe and part of the status quo.  People who make excuses for why they stay in the same job year after year even though they hate it? What a waste.

Don’t want to fight human trafficking or issues like abortion because it is controversial or dangerous?? I am bored by you.

Don’t want to share Jesus with others because they might laugh at you? I question if you really believe Jesus is Lord and Savior.

Does that sound harsh? Presumptuous? Judgmental? I apologize. That is not the point I am trying to make nor do you want to believe that I don’t have compassion for those who may be afraid and need a little encouragement.

But most people just don’t move or do anything.  They complain all day every day. But they still. Don’t. Move.

The last couple of weeks I have picked up a couple of books that I am devouring right now!

1. 7: an experimental mutiny against excess by Jen Hatmaker

books

First, I believe Jen and I are long lost friends. Mostly because my favorite line that I read in chapter 1 of her book stated this: “I would positively get rid of cable tomorrow if it weren’t for the Food Network. I read cookbooks like they are Jodi Picoult novels.”

Amen girlfriend. This is so true. SO TRUE!

To be honest, I didn’t want to read this book at first. Because I knew that if I did, my way of thinking would be challenged and I would have to do something with the information I read.  That is just the way I am.  When you come face to face with your behavior and how it needs to be changed…you either have to change it, or pretend it doesn’t exist. I don’t like to live life with my head buried in the sand.

Realizing that her life, while she would not classify herself as rich, they were extremely well off as a family considering they had a roof over their head, plenty of clothes (over 300 items to be specific), never skipped a meal and was able to buy things when they felt like it.  The idea that many of us in America live in excess….meaning living with MORE than we actually need….hit her so hard that she decided to spend seven months, choose 7 topics, and spend 30 days on each topic boiling it down to only 7. That means eat only 7 foods, wear 7 articles of clothing, and spend money in 7 places.

Radical right?!  And I am loving every inch of this book. Does she say you have to do this in order to get the point? NO! But I am already rethinking how I view my possessions and what I have in my home.  I love books like this. Grab yours now!

2. Start by Jon Acuff

Start

This is a personal development book I picked up (and requiring my team to read it…heads up team hehe!) for my business.  When I first began my business, I had no clue what I was doing. And I definitely did not have a whole lot of money! But I went for it because I am so passionate about people getting healthy. So many times we can choose to just wait until the right moment to start whatever it is we want to start. We figure we are stuck where we are because it is too hard to get out. NO! Don’t believe it! Maybe it is a new career. Maybe it is an invention. Maybe we want to travel. Maybe you want to start a family. I don’t know what it is for you, but the perfect moment won’t come.

You won’t have all the answers to how it will pan out. You won’t have all the money you need.  This book challenges me to do the best I can with the information I have, find out what I am passionate about, and just begin.  To see where it goes.  To literally “Punch Fear in the face”, do something that matters and Start.  This is a great book for those of you who may be tired of doing something you aren’t passionate about and are looking to change.  Grab it!

What books are you reading that are pushing you lately?

Tiff~

Talk To Me

