Wanting The Perfect Body

In social media, I have been so blessed to meet so many amazing women who desire to be healthy and fit.

Their goals go far beyond being a size 2. Or rocking a bikini. Or being in a fitness competition.

No, they just desire to be stronger mommies. To be able to crush it at their job without feeling tired all the time. To heal from past wounds. To chase their kids around. So many different reasons.

But there is a sad part to social media. There are a lot of women who are searching for that perfect, dream body.

Case in point. I was checking out a young girl’s IG and she posted a progress photo of herself in a bikini.

Folks she was looking awesome. She had a stomach a lot of woman would kill for. She rocked that bikini.

What startled me was that she said this “I am almost to my dream body. Still have a lot of work to do.”

What?

What exactly is the “dream” body?

For a brief second, I started to doubt my own progress. I bust my BUTT to take care of this one body God gave me. I may not have a six pack (maybe a 4 pack…haha!) And I may never have one. That is up to me.

But it breaks my heart when I see girls believe that a perfect cost exists. It doesn’t.

Because everyone has been crafted so beautifully by our Creator, the perfect body is how He made you.

Psalm 139:13-14 reminds us that it was He who crafted us and He knows everything about us.

Stop searching for perfect. Have healthy minded goals….absolutely! But put your plans at the feet of God and seek wise counsel and accountability so that you can be rest assured you are making the right choices and not grasping for something that doesn’t exist.

The world tries to tell us that beautiful is having a six pack and perfectly toned arms. God says you are Fearfully and Wonderfully Made.

Tiff

2 thoughts on “Wanting The Perfect Body

  1. Charlotte @ Commitness to Fitness says:

    I just love this post. It’s not about how you look, it’s about everything a healthy lifestyle brings to your life. This is perfect- “The world tries to tell us that beautiful is having a six pack and perfectly toned arms. God says you are Fearfully and Wonderfully Made.”

Talk To Me

