It’s Not About Easter Eggs

I love taking my kids to go hunting for Easter eggs at a local city event. Back in my pageant days, those were some of my favorite events to be a part of, as you got to interact with the children and the people who make up your community.

We headed out to Diamond Bar and did the normal thing. Find eggs, take pictures with Miss Diamond Bar and her court, eat candy, and spend time with family.

20140419-213324.jpg

But Madi reminded me that Easter, while fun, has a much deeper meaning.

As it often happens, some kids become overwhelmed by the rush of hunting for Easter eggs. And some kids end up with nothing. One little girl had the saddest face because she only had 2 eggs. Madi, looking into the little girl’s basket, grabbed a few of her eggs, and gave them to the little girl.

Without being prompted.

Please note, this is not because I am such an awesome mother. Far from it. But my daughter, who is naturally compassionate, saw a need and filled it, knowing it would cost her a few eggs and candy.

God did the same thing.

See, He saw His children in all their sin. He saw how far we were from Him. How certain death was for us in our depravity. He saw a need and fulfilled it through the death, burial, and resurrection of His Son. Jesus, knowingly gave it all for us. He filled a need and it cost Him His very life.

And with that sacrifice, we were the ones who benefited. It now meant that we are reconciled with God. That our debt was paid thanks to the compassion of our Father who saw a need in His children. How lost we were. And how He saved us. I can’t think of any other words to fully express my gratitude and what my heart feels as I celebrate this Easter.

I love the song Alive by Natalie Grant. These words pierce my heart as they remind me so much of the mercy and compassion of God.

Alive, Alive
Look what mercy’s overcome
Death has lost and love has won.
Alive, Alive
Hallelujah Risen Lord
The only One I’ll fall before
I am His because He is
Alive

Hallelujah Amen! He is Risen! He is Risen indeed!

It is not about Easter Eggs. It is all about Jesus.

Happy Easter my friends.

20140419-215251.jpg

Tiff

Talk To Me

