You Make a Poor God

2015-12-14 11.23.15

I have been reading an incredible book called Let It Go by Karen Ehman. It is about being a control freak.

For real. And I am here to confess that I am a control freak.

Especially when it comes to my precious children.

My greatest desire is to raise them up to know Jesus and to be a man and woman who have exemplary character. That when others watch them and talk to them, there will be no question about whom they serve with their whole heart.

And if I can be even the tiniest bit honest, sometimes, okay a lot of the time, I want people to think the best of me as well. That I am a great parent.

But I am not God. In fact, I make a very poor God. And so do you, my friend.

I have found myself trying to change, shift, correct EVERYTHING they do, from what clothes they wear, to their friendships, their experiences, and more. There is one thing to be protective. I want to protect their eyes and ears and hearts from things that I believe would be harmful to them, but I cannot CONTROL every aspect of their little lives.

I want obedient children, but not at the expense of their dignity. And I definitely don’t want robots.

And when I try to control them or anything else in my life, what I am really saying is that I don’t trust God with my children. With my finances. With my marriage. With my business.

When I try to put myself in God’s place in their lives or anyone else’s, that is when we have an issue.

The bible teaches that we are to raise our children up in the way they should go so that when they grow older, they will not depart from it. (Proverbs 22:6)

Nowhere does God tell us to control or manipulate in order to raise them. They have to learn. They have to grow. And sadly, they will have to make mistakes, much to the dismay of our momma heart.  Yes, their mistakes will be painful to them and to us, but only then can they learn and grow. I have yet to meet a person who was transformed from the inside out thanks to a perfect life and being mistake free!

The bible also teaches us to Trust the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. (Luke 10:27).

God doesn’t manipulate us into obedience and fellowship with Him. He gave us free will and a free gift and an opportunity for us to CHOOSE. There was no coercion on his part. Simply grace and compassion for his wayward children.

Parent with grace. Let go of the need to control everything they do.

And if you need a little encouragement in this area, I highly recommend grabbing Let it Go and reading it with a fellow control freak in Christ. =).

Be a Size You,

Tiff

Talk To Me

